Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gillespie paint and primer

Default Gillespie paint and primer

So I am painting mikes truck. Or trying to. Nothing super special. Just a one color cover up and some good corrosion protection. I can attest this truck is a prime candidate for a resto. I am having some really long dry times on the primer. I have used 2 tanks of propane to add heat to the shop. Sanding it balls it up and makes tons of more work from the scarring. Can you add a hardener?
    We are hoping to shoot some final coats on it saturday. Geez thats tomorrow!
    I am going to uncover my wood stove out there today. I'm just curious as to the dry times. It would be nice to accelerate it. This is my first time working with gillespie. I know some of you guys have used it a lot.
    Liz, covid, murdered 10/19/21

Use a "fast" synthyetic enamel reducer - that will speed up the flash time. There usually is "slow" for hot weather - 80 degrees and up, "medium" for say 75 degree weather, and "fast" for cooler weather/temps.

Rhoadesville, Virginia (five miles from no place)

What solvent did you use in the Gillespie?
    "Free advice is worth what you pay for it."™

Xylene Randy. Just a little. About 55 PSI at the gun. Siphon feed gun. It's thick and lays out nice. It is just a slow dry. I have noticed that if I hand sand with a block it does not ball up bad. The power sanders I think are causing to much heat. My arms hurt. No kiddin... Wax on!!!!!

I have a few products left over from the CJ I just painted. I don't know if they are synthetic. I'll have to look. Thanks FF!...

Xylene is what they recommend. I wonder if humidity isn't causing the slow dry.

The reason I say that, is because I just sprayed a Honda 750 engine case, the other day in straight enamel and it took two days to dry. Note: we've had 5 inches of rain in the last three days, so its been just a tad damp here.